Changes made to our board of trustees

24 September 2015        

We have today announced changes to our Board of Trustees, including three new members, following retirements.

Professor Sir Kent Woods will take on the newly created role of Senior Medical Trustee, while also becoming Vice Chair, and Chair of the BHF Advisory Council, following the retirement of Sir Christopher Edwards.

Sir Kent was the Chief Executive of the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) between 2004 and 2013, and has been Chairman of the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency since 2011.

Iain Mackay will replace Roger Pilgrim, who is retiring after seven years, as Trustee and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee. Mr Mackay is Group Finance Director of HSBC Holdings Plc, a role he has held since December 2010. Before joining HSBC in 2007, Mr Mackay was at General Electric - initially as Controller of the Global Consumer Finance unit, and then became CFO of GE Healthcare - Global Diagnostic Imaging.

Professor Sussan Nourshargh is replacing Professor Kay-Tee Khaw as Trustee following Professor Khaw’s retirement after nine years as a BHF Trustee. Professor Nourshargh is a pharmacologist who became Professor of Immunopharmacology at Imperial College London in 2006 and since 2007 has been Professor of Microvascular Pharmacology at Barts and The London Medical School, Queen Mary, University of London. She is a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

New chairman

All three board changes will come into effect on October 1 following the Annual General Meeting, when Dr Doug Gurr will also begin as new Chairman.

We announced in March that Dr Gurr would replace Philip Yea in the role of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Dr Gurr has been the President of Amazon China since 2014.

Mr Yea became a Trustee at the British Heart Foundation in 2008 and was appointed chairman the following year. He is stepping down after serving the maximum term as a Trustee.